It’s Good To Be King

Happy, Lady and Lucy – the Cavalier King Charles Spaniel stars of the ‘King’s Life’ series by Happy Lady Productions – are very distinct dogs with very different personalities. Below, is the second in a series of their in-depth, individual and enlightening interviews by Rover Reporter, CBO (Chief Barking Officer) of Hollywood rag, ‘Barkity Fair.’ Photography by Dan Merchant.

Happy, Lady and Lucy – the Cavalier King Charles Spaniel stars of the ‘King’s Life’ series by Happy Lady Productions – are very distinct dogs with very different personalities. Below, is the second in a series of their in-depth, individual and enlightening interviews by Rover Reporter, CBO (Chief Barking Officer) of Hollywood rag, ‘Barkity Fair.’ Photography by Dan Merchant.

Rover Reporter: Happy 5th Birthday, Happy! Are you feeling superstitious that your birthday falls on Friday the 13th this year?

H: Nope. I’m not superstitious. (Chuckles) It would be a happy day if a black cat even thinks about crossing my path, today.

RR: Oh! (Stepping back) You’re not quite what I expected. How ever did you get your name?

H: Don’t know. It’s aspirational. My mother (Blushing) calls me her Happiness.

RR: Ah, that’s sweet! Aren’t you named after both one of your mother’s friends, as well as a predecessor family dog?

H: Yes, that’s true. Happy I was a fox terrier cross from Yonkers, though I’m not sure of the reasoning for naming me after him. And my mother’s friend is a girl. (Shakes his head) Humans, gotta love’ em. They make no sense!

RR: Is it hard living up to your name?

H: I don’t think about it.

RR: Rumor ’round the fire hydrant is that you can be less than happy, sometimes.

H: (Low snarl) I didn’t know I had such a reputation. I have always tried to be chipper.

RR: So, you think you’re a laid back, ‘don’t worry, be happy’ kinda guy?

H: Yes. Except when someone messes with one of my sisters or my mother. I’m very protective of my girls.

RR: Given your big muscles, I’m sure no one messes with you! Do you have any other nicknames?

H: Scout.

RR: Like Tonto’s pony! Why Scout?

H: I like to lead. I’m the front dog. I sniff out adventure. I scout, therefore I am.

RR: Deep. With your black tuxedo of a coat, has anyone ever told you you look like Daniel Craig’s James Bond? A kind of OOK9?

H: (Chest puffs out) I’ve heard a mention or two. Recently, I’ve also been compared to Fred Astaire. I’m quite light on my feet.

FredAstaire

RR: Speaking of movie stars, do you have any favorite films?

H: I’m more of a National Geographic’s channel guy.

RR: Oooh, safari stuff!

H: That’s a nice way of putting it. I like hunting. Let’s leave it at that.

RR: Good idea. Do you have a favorite sport?

H: Besides, ah, safar-ing? Swimball. My mom taught me to swim when I was a few weeks old, and my Dad threw thousands of tennis balls for me in the water. I can go for hours (flexes his muscles). I taught my sister, Lucy. She’s alright.

RR: What about your feather fetish?

H: You’re barking mad. I don’t know what you’re talking about.

RR: Come on! Your fans want to know. Don’t you have a passion for chasing feathers?

H: Ok, yes. I do love feathers. It started with a bunch of baby quails that got stuck in my back garden, and…

RR: Oh, dear! Please, don’t say another word. Changing the subject! What is your best feature?

H: I’d say it’s my tail.

RR: Yes, it is quite remarkable. Like a plume. And your best quality?

H: Patience when being asked silly questions.

RR: (Sweating) Last question. I’m gonna ask you to dig deep here. Who are you?

H: I am a Cavalier King Charles Spaniel. It’s Good To Be King.

RR: Truer words were never spoken.

Rover’s looking forward to his next interview with mischievous Lucy – featured in the October issue of Barkity Fair – who’ll be talking about their latest book coming out this Fall: It’s a King’s Life in Aspen. Read all about it here, first!

—–

Want to see what Happy, Lady and Lucy are up to daily? Join them on Facebook. Make their tails wag and ‘Like’ their page!

Latest book release by Happy Lady Productions: Discover The Phoenician with Phoe-Phoe & Friends

Discover ThePhoenician with Phoe-Phoe & Friends

Image | This entry was posted in Aspen, Carmel-by-the-sea, Cavalier King Charles Spaniel, children's picture book, Dan Merchant, Discover The Phoenician with Phoe-Phoe & Friends, dog friendly, dog personality, dog travel, Dogs, Dogs and Children, Emily Randolph, Happy, Happy Lady Productions, It's a King's Life in Phoenix, Lady, Lucy, Phoenician Resort, Phoenix, Photo Illustrations. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It’s Good To Be King

  1. Pingback: Happy 25th Anniversary, The Phoenician! | It's a King's Life.®

Leave a Reply

